Board of Directors

Directors’ Biographies

Lord Ashcroft is an international businessman, author, philanthropist, and pollster. His many, varied business interests include significant investments and participation in both public and private companies in the United Kingdom, United States and the Caribbean. He was appointed Non-executive Chairman of the Company in December 2014. In September 2012, he was appointed a member of the Privy Council and was made the Government’s Special Representative for Veterans’ Transition, working with all departments to ensure military personnel receive the support they need when making the transition to civilian life. Lord Ashcroft supports a wide range of charities, including those dealing with crime prevention and education. He is the founder of Crimestoppers and Chairman of its Board of Trustees. He is also Vice Patron of the Intelligence Corps Museum, a Trustee of Imperial War Museums, a Trustee of the Cleveland Clinic in the US, Ambassador to SkillForce, a Trustee and President of the West India Committee, Chairman of the Trustees of Ashcroft Technology Academy and Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin University in the UK.

Julia Robertson was appointed Group Chief Executive Officer of the Company in April 2013. She joined the Group in 2000 following the acquisition of the Tate business. Following the 2008 Impellam merger, she was appointed as the divisional CEO of Impellam’s UK Staffing businesses. Prior to working for the Group, Julia was Chief Executive of the Institute of Employment Consultants (now known as the Recruitment Employment Confederation), the professional body for the UK recruitment industry. She founded her own recruitment business which was sold to the Group alongside Tate.

Alison Wilford, joined the Board as Chief Financial Officer in July 2016. Over the last five years, Alison, aged 51, was previously a director of the following companies:

• Aviva Global Services (Management Services) Private Limited; and
• Waveney Asset Management Limited.

Angela Entwistle was appointed a Non-executive Director of the Company in September 2012. Angela is a Corporate Communications Specialist working with companies in the private sector. She was Corporate Communications Director of ADT Limited, an international business services company and the world’s leader in electronic security solutions, from 1986 to 1997. Angela is significantly involved in a number of charities including acting as Trustee of both Crimestoppers, the only UK charity dedicated to solving crimes, and Prospect Education (Technology) Trust Limited, the umbrella charity of the Ashcroft Technology Academy. Angela is not considered to be independent due to her links with the major shareholder.

Mike Ettling was appointed a Non executive Director of the Company in September 2013. Mike is a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years’ experience of executive management, particularly in the technology and HR outsourcing sector. Most recently he was appointed President of SAP Successfactors, the HR Cloud software business for SAP SE. Prior to this, Mike was Chief Executive of NorthgateArinso, a global HR services company. He has served as Vice President, Global BP Strategy and Operations with Unisys. Mike is also a director of Backoffice Associates and Business Connexion Limited.

The Honourable Shane Stone AC QC was appointed a Non-executive Director of the Company in September 2011. He serves as Deputy Chairman and chairs Australian subsidiaries Medacs and Comensura. He is an Alumnus of ANU, Sturt, Adelaide and Melbourne universities. Shane is Chairman of the diversified Group Mayfair Limited in Australia and Executive Chairman of the APAC Group. He is former Chairman of one of Australia’s largest power distribution companies Queensland based Energex Limited. He has acted in a corporate advisory capacity to Thiess, one of Australia’s and Indonesia’s largest mine contractors. He chairs ASX listed Regalpoint Resources Limited. He chaired the Prime Minister’s Northern Australia Advisory Group and has a continuing role on the Aviation and Maritime task force. He is a former Chief Minister of the Northern Territory and Federal President of the Liberal Party of Australia. As a Companion of the Order of Australia, Shane has been conferred the nation’s highest civilian award. He is National Chairman of the Duke of Edinburgh Award in Australia, and is a barrister by profession.
Michael Laurie was appointed a Non-executive Director of the Company in July 2014. He is also a Non-executive Chairman of SUSD Limited, a property development company that promotes sustainable architecture. Michael was an army officer for 34 years. He held the role of Major General at the Ministry of Defence until 2003, when he became the CEO of the Crimestoppers Trust. There, he led a period of transformation before retiring from the position in 2013.

Sir Paul Stephenson was appointed a Non-executive Director of the Company in July 2014. He served as a Non-executive Director of Restore plc between May 2012 and May 2014, and as Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Service between 2009 and 2011. Sir Paul joined the police service in 1975, becoming a member of the Association of Chief Police Officers in 1994, serving in a number of Chief Officer roles within both Merseyside and Lancashire. He was appointed Chief Constable of Lancashire in 2002 and Deputy Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Service in 2005. Sir Paul received the Queen’s Police Medal in 2000, became a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute in 2008 and was knighted the same year. Sir Paul is also a Non-executive Director of the British Horse racing Authority, fulfilling the specific role of Independent Regulatory Director.

Derek O’Neill was appointed a Non executive Director of the Company in November 2014 following the Group’s acquisition of Lorien Limited. He was Group CEO and a major shareholder in Lorien prior to its acquisition. Derek is a qualified accountant, having trained with Dunlop and BP. Derek is also a Director of AIM listed Marlowe plc. He has previously been on the board of two listed companies and spent 12 years as an executive director of a number of private equity backed businesses. In addition to recruitment, Derek has worked as an executive director in a diverse range of sectors, including house building, electronics, engineering, telecommunications and logistics.

Rebecca Watson was appointed as Group Company Secretary and General Counsel of the Company in May 2008. She spent the previous five years as Company Secretary and General Counsel for The Corporate Services Group Plc, having joined the Group in 1998 as Company Solicitor. Prior to this, she was in a private practice, acting for a range of corporate clients. She has been a qualified solicitor since 1993.

Directors’ Subcommittees

Audit committee

The Audit Committee meets at least twice each year, comprises two Non-executive Directors and is chaired by Mike Ettling.

Remuneration committee

The Remuneration Committee comprises two Non-executive Directors and is chaired by The Honourable Shane Stone.